KOSTH NEWSLETTER

WWW.KANSASONESHOTTURKEYHUNT.ORG



Thursday, November 14, 2024



Carrying on History & Tradition

Kansas One Shot Turkey Hunt (KOSTH) is gearing up for its third year! We are excited to continue the momentum of keeping alive the vision and traditions born when 41st Governor Mike Hayden and El Dorado Chamber of Commerce Executive Vice President Marv McCown founded the very first hunt in 1987.

Phil Benedict Retires

Thank you Phil Benedict for 2 years of service as the KOSTH Board of Directors Secretary! Phil retired from the El Dorado Chamber of Commerce on October 31. KOSTH appreciates Phil's contributions to our first 2 years! INSIDE: 2025 Hunter Invitations 2025 Non-Resident Turkey Permit Application Process



JOIN US! Ribbon cutting & holiday open house at our new location!

Thursday, December 12, 4-6PM

210 W. Central Avenue El Dorado, Kansas 67042 (316)251-9352

2025 Hunter Invitations and Alumni Club

If you have not already joined the KOSTH Alumni Club, time is running out to secure your spot in the 2025 hunt. Only Alumni members are guaranteed a return invitation to the hunt each year.

The Kansas One Shot Turkey Hunt Alumni Club is a community that seeks to establish lasting relationships among past participants, new attendees, guides, and landowners. Our primary objective is to facilitate communication regarding conservation, hunting experiences, and habitat updates with the board of the Kansas One Shot Turkey Hunt.

We invite you to join us in our mission to promote camaraderie and support for the preservation of our hunting heritage. Hunters who join the Alumni Club will be guaranteed an invitation to participate in upcoming hunts. Members of the Alumni Club will also receive recognition on our website and yearly Hunt program. Lifetime membership fees for the Alumni Club are as follows:

Hunters: \$250 Guides: \$25 Landowners: \$10

To join, visit the website at kansasoneshoturkeyhunt.org.

CURRENT ALUMNI:

Dave Adams Gus Bader Phil Benedict Robert Boles John Britt David Cornish Pat Do Mark Elliott Christie Foulston Dan Gonzales Kim Gonzales Mike Hayden Darren Jackson DJ Jackson Phyllis Jackson Rob Keck Tim Keenan Brian Lewellen Bryan Lewis Marc Murrell Jarrod Nichols Matt Ray Warren Rensner Bob Ruch Steve Seymour Cape Taylor Beverly Tipton Craig Wall Frank Williams Becky Wolfe



Jim Clements 2025 Artist of the Year

2025 NON RESIDENT TURKEY PERMITS

Non-Residents who would like to hunt in the Kansas spring turkey season will have the chance to apply for a new lottery draw starting on January 14th and ending on February 14th, 2025. The new lottery draw is part of a larger strategy by the Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks (KDWP) to reduce overall hunting pressure and turkey harvest in the state. This is in response to a nation-wide decline in turkey populations.

Kansas One Shot Turkey Hunt (KOSTH) Board of Director members Mike Hayden and Jarrod Nichols are paying close attention to this issue and what it means for the future of nonresident hunters who wish to participate in the annual KOSTH. There are a few ways to change the lottery draw- through legislation, changing regulation, or a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between KDWP and KOSTH. Former Governor Mike Hayden intends to pursue a MOU, but if his efforts are not successful, he will work closely with KDWP to assist in changing regulations. This process could take eight months or more and would not be in place in time for the 2025 hunt.

For the 2025 KOSTH, Non-Residents may apply for a permit – valid only in a single unit – in Units 1, 2, 3, 5, or 6 and a \$10 application fee will apply. Similar to the Kansas nonresident deer permit draw, any leftover nonresident spring turkey permits will be offered on a first-come, first-served basis shortly after the draw. To apply for a 2025 non-resident turkey permit:

·Visit gooutdoorskansas.com between the dates of 01/14/25 – 02/14/25
·Select "Purchase Licenses, Permits, & Tags"
·Login to your account
·Select "Limited Draw Applications"

If you have questions, please contact <u>ksoneshotturkeyhunt@gmail.com</u> or (316)251-9352, or contact KDWP by calling 1-833-587-2164.

Jarrod Nichols, 2024 Chair John Britt, 2025 Chair Elect Becky Wolfe, Treasurer Gunner Sullivan, Secretary Mike Hayden, Founder Steve Seymour, Past Chair Gus Bader KOSTH BOARD OF DIRECTORS Dave Adams Darren Jackson Kim Gonzales Warren Rensner Kelsey Puryear Marc Murrell Bryan Lewis Kevin Tate



April 16-18, 2025

Help make the 2025 hunt a success by becoming a sponsor!

Hunter Sponsorship - \$2,500



Boss Gobbler Sponsorship - \$1,000

Longbeard Sponsorship - \$500

Contact us via Facebook or visit our website for the benefits associated with each sponsorship level!

www.kansasoneshotturkeyhunt.org



Questions? Contact Megan Smith megan@g2solutionsks.com



Danica Dickson, Managing Director

KOSTH is pleased to announce the hiring of new Managing Director, Danica Dickson. Danica started October 1, 2024 and has already begun making strides at KOSTH.

In her new role Danica will oversee operations to ensure the success of the 2025 hunt and future KOSTH endeavors.